Reset Your Device

Resetting the device deletes all data and resets the device back to its initial state — the state before you turned on the device for the first time. These items will be deleted when you reset the device:

Important: Make sure to back up important data you have on the device or your microSD card before you perform a reset.

Reset Your Device via Settings

  1. From the Home screen, touch > Settings > Storage > Factory data reset.
  1. If you also want to erase all data in the installed microSD card, select Erase SD card.
  1. Touch Reset phone.
  1. Touch Erase everything. Your device will power down and reset itself, which may take up to 10 minutes.

Once the device has reset, it will run through the Hands Free Activation and update processes again. When finished, you will see the Welcome screen and Setup application. See Complete the Setup Application to start over.

Reset Your Device Using the Device Keys

  1. With the device turned off, press and hold the volume down button, and then
    press .
  1. When the device’s display turns on, release the volume button.
  1. Use the volume button to select FACTORY RESET, and then press . (All data will be deleted from the device.)