Frequently Asked Questions 

FAQs Home

Secure Wi-Fi


(top)

What is Secure Wi-Fi?

The Secure Wi-Fi service provides a safer and more efficient way to use both unsecure and password-protected Wi-Fi networks by reducing the risk of your personal and sensitive data being compromised.. Now you can email, browse and stream safely on Wi-Fi networks. Secure Wi-Fi is the smart and efficient solution not only protecting you, but also optimizing your device’s performance while in protected mode.

(top)

What is an unsecure Wi-Fi network?

An unsecure wireless connection is one you can access without a password. Public networks offered in places like cafes, retail stores and parks are often open and unsecured networks.

(top)

How does Secure Wi-Fi work?

Secure Wi-Fi is a service that automatically detects when you access a Wi-Fi network, and when enabled, will encrypt the data you transmit before it leaves your phone to ensure your privacy and protection.

(top)

What phones support Secure Wi-Fi?

iOS Phones: Secure Wi-Fi is available for download from the Apple App Store on iOS phones.

Android Phones: The Secure Wi-Fi app is pre-installed on many new Boost Mobile phones activated after August 1, 2018.

If you do not see the Secure Wi-Fi app on your phone, click here for links to the App Store and Google Play Store to download.

(top)

Does Secure Wi-Fi encrypt traffic that is already encrypted?

No, Secure Wi-Fi only encrypts unsecured (HTTP) traffic.

(top)

How do I activate the Secure Wi-Fi service?

Open the pre-installed Secure Wi-Fi app on your device or download the Secure Wi-Fi app in the Google Play or App Store by searching for “Secure Wi-Fi”.

Once you open the app, you activate Secure Wi-Fi by purchasing a monthly subscription for $2.00 within the app. You will be charged each month on your standard billing date.

(top)

How do I turn off Secure Wi-Fi App notifications?

Go into your phone settings and select:

iOS: Settings>Notifications>Secure Wi-Fi>Turn off notifications

Android: Settings>Notifications>Secure Wi-Fi>Turn off notifications

(top)

How do I cancel my Secure Wi-Fi service?

To cancel the Full-time Secure Wi-Fi subscription:

  1. (Android) Open the Boost Secure Wi-Fi app
  2. Touch “Unsubscribe”.

Note: Secure Wi-Fi service will be available until the end of your current billing cycle. You will not be billed for Secure Wi-Fi after that.

(top)

How can I tell if Secure Wi-Fi is working?

The Secure Wi-Fi service is working when the following icon is displayed in the notification bar (at the top of your device), while you are connected to a Wi-Fi network.

Android Key Icon
iOS VPN Icon
(top)

Why am I unable to access the Internet on some public Wi-Fi networks?

This may occur for several reasons:

  • Many public Wi-Fi networks require you to login first before allowing Internet access. You can do this by opening a browser. Make sure you have completed the login process specific to the public Wi-Fi network you are trying to access.
  • You could have a poor Wi-Fi signal. Move to an area where the signal strength is stronger.
  • Internet access could be impaired due to high Wi-Fi network congestion caused by too many users.
(top)

Why does my phone automatically connect to a Wi-Fi network?

Your phone may be automatically connecting to Wi-Fi networks that use the same name as a network, or is a network that you have connected to previously (e.g., Starbucks, CableWi-Fi, Boingo, etc.).

(top)

Does Secure Wi-Fi run all the time?

Yes. Secure Wi-Fi monitors your network activity, so it can automatically detect when you connect to a Wi-Fi network and protect your Wi-Fi sessions when needed.

(top)

Does Secure Wi-Fi impact my battery?

Secure Wi-Fi has minimal battery impact.

(top)

Does the Secure Wi-Fi service slow down my network connection?

There may be a slight reduction in Wi-Fi speed due to the encryption used to protect your data.